Jump to the main content block

About TUMT

The only marine university with the campuses across Taipei City and New Taipei City


The board of trustees

Taipei University of Marine Technology is a vocational technology oriented institute aiming at cultivating technical professional in the fields of maritime and commerce. Along with the phase II of re-construction of vocational and technical education project created by the Ministry of Education, the university adopted “Justice, Honesty, Diligence, Courage, Persistency” as the university motto, “Professionalism, Loyalty, Diligence, Persistency, Servicing as the university philosophy, and the vision of cultivating distinguished professionals emphasizing the balance of theory and practice, both technology and ethics, reality, innovation, servicing, and LOHAS (life styles of health and sustainability). Furthermore, the university continues to upgrade its vision of being a more professional, innovated and, excellent institute.

Professor Yen-Po Tang assumed the position of the ninth president in August 2012. With the belief of “loyalty, innovation, perspective, enthusiasm, wisdom, and efficacy”, the president encouraged faculty members to be responsible and innovative to enhance the competitiveness and achieve the

ultimate goal of being an internationally renowned university in maritime technology.

There are 11 members in this 16th board.They are Shih-Tsung Lin, Chao-Jung Lin, Wu-Yueh Chang, Cheng-Ho Hung, Ming-Hua Yang, Yu-Tsung Chen, Wei-Chih Lin, Chin-Feng Lin, Chun-Jung Li, Yl-Yong Lin, Jing-Fu Kao and Chien-Chung Wu. All the members are diligent and well-respected gentries with great achievement.



Evolved with outstanding entrepreneur alumni

Taipei University of Marine Technology was first established under the name of China Maritime College along with the board of trustee registered in Shihlin 1966. With the approval of the Ministry of Education on March 18, 1966. the college began to recruit students in three academic departments-Department of Navigation, Department of Marine Engineering,and Department of Shipping. The school was officially opened on March 28,1966 and the board of the trustee was registered as a non-profit organization.

In August 1998, the college added a new academic department in international trade. To be consistent with the departments added, the college was renamed as China Junior College of Maritime and Commerce. To meet the requirement for offering degree programs set by the Ministry of Education, the board of trustee purchased a piece of land in New Town Tamsui and constructed it into the second campus in 2001.

In 2007, the name of the school was changed again as Taipei College of Maritime Technology upon the approval of the Ministry of Education. The campus in Tamsui has been renovated many times and turned out to be the main campus. In 2017, the name of our school changed as Taipei University of Marine Technology. Along with the changes and upgrade. Taipei University of Marine Technology remains the only university that owns its wharf for the purpose of teaching. And the university is the only one in Taiwan that has campuses across the City of Taipei and the New Taipei city geographically.
The university has educated more than40.000 students who after graduation devoted themselves in different fields since 1966 and their performances are highly appraised in various industrial organization. Many of them have become well-known entrepreneurs and the list includes the president of Hon Hai Technology Group. Mr. Terry Kuo: The Chair for Laure Industrial chairman, Mr. Kun-Shan Wang, the President for Wagon Group, Mr. Cing-Tan Hong, The Chair of Committee for International Ocean Freight Forwarders and Logistics, Mr. Mu-Zhi Chen; the president of Go Rising Group, Mr. Zu-Gang Lei; Director for Kaohsiung Pilots’ Association, Mr. Yen-Chang Hu; well-known actor Tzu-Chien Kuo: huqin musician, Mr. Chia-Kun Chen, and well-known record producer Mr. Chih-Ping Wang.

The number of students has grown to 6,500 in the past five years, the rapidest one in Taiwan,and 80% of the facultymembers are full-time professors with doctoral degrees.